Get Your Glitch On

Really, I haven’t listened to much Glitch Mob other than passing on Pandora. However, with them coming to Detroit this week and agreeing to do an interview with Boreta, I had to do my homework like I do with all the bands, and immerse myself in as much of their music and read as much as I could in the short amount of time. Boreta stated that most of their fans have been with them from the beginning more so than new fans who have just discovered them. Well, Justin, I’m one of the newbies!!!!

I was talking with a friend of mine who is one the old school fans from back in the day when The Glitch Mob was five piece headed up by Kraddy when their sound was more heavily influenced by hip hop aka Glitch-hop. She was disappointed that they had changed their sound and transformed into something a little different for their first full length album, Drink the Sea which was released in 2010. The group just released their Love Death Immortality earlier this year after a four year sabbatical. I’ve listened to both albums and like the current one better, but that is only because of my personal music taste. I wouldn’t say one is better or worse than the other. Their current album, while Glitch Mob rooted, departs stylistically from their previous album. I happen to love it though. I really like EDM music that is a blend of dubstep and rock, especially when you throw in some female vocals. Aja Volkman is featured on two tracks, “Our Demons” and “I Need My Memory Back.” Her sultry, rasp can also be heard in her band Nico Vega. She is also married to front man, Dan Reynolds of the Imagine Dragons.

Anyhow, so what happens when the band that  you initially fell in love with because of the way they sounded changes? Do you abandon them? Maybe they start out more underground and raw and then along with their success have access to more resources and more money which leads to their sound changing. Does it likely become over produced? And yes, I know there is a difference in changing sound due to higher quality equipment vs stylistically and artistically…but still, have you ever broken up with a band due to the change of their sound?

You can read the full concert preview and more about my chat with Justin here.

So after flipping through pages of their bio and press releases, I came across a part that said that the band, like many I’m sure, gets told how their music has helped fans get through some trying times in their lives. That must be humbling to know that something you wrote has had such an impact on someone else. I was curious as to which artist, if any, has had that kind of impact on Boreta himself. Answer….. Sigur Ros. Other music that Boreta listens to that might be unexpected are The Flaming Lips. He stated that “there was a point in my life where i was listening to The Flaming Lips Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots like five times a day.” Nine Inch Nails was another (maybe not so unexpected with that one) and to dub reggae music.

The Glitch Mob really infuses a lot of different types of music into their sound…though some types may be more subtle than others.

Jack White was named as the artist that they’d love to collaborate with. They are all huge Jack White fans. I think the fusion of the two would yield something innovative and edgy. Until that happens, I’m just pretty excited to see where The Glitch Mob will take their music next.