I was on fire

10728965_10203514824529863_1595852326_nAbove photo by Marc Nader

No really, I was…at least for a little bit. I was standing around this table and bent over to pick up someone’s clutch and next thing I know, I started to wonder what that weird smell was…like something was burning. And then I heard, “Oh my god.”  Something was definitely burning…..my feathers on my mask!!! I leaned into a flame! I don’t recall who saved my head…but it was definitely one of these ladies…so thanks!!!

Even though my feet are killing me, it was well worth it. The experience is truly priceless. An amazing event. It’s really hard to explain it and get a feel for the event without being there. The immersive environment was well put together and thought out. Creator of Theatre Bizarre, John Dunivant, said himself that he wants there to be many layers to the story. And there were. As I walked in and out of the rooms, I knew that there was stuff I had missed. Or on my way to one room that there’d be another nearby that I had not yet discovered.

_0TB9473-700

_0TB9513-700

_0TB9661-700

_0TB9672-700

It was a night of animosity (for the most part) and indulgence….from food, drinks, fun and people watching! All the rooms were themed differently. The energy from room to room was different. From festive Halloween celebration, to rooms you were left to wonder if you wanted to even stay there. Tonight, the limited number of guests were guided throughout the night from scheduled performances to rooms with eats, treats, drinks, and dancing.

_0TB9619-700

Tomorrow the Masonic Temple in downtown Detroit is going to be packed with thousands of people. Guests will be able to walk around and create their own adventures and move freely from room to room. However, tomorrow things will also be more challenging with the large amount of people that will be attending. It is suggested that if you come to the event in a group that you split off into pairs, as maneuvering is going to be near impossible. Both for tonight and tomorrow, tickets sold out!! Not bad for something that started out in some peoples’ backyard over ten years ago.

Theatre Bizarre is a unique event and is something that is constantly evolving with new chapters being added each year. Eventually, Dunivant said he’d love to see the bizarre world go for two weekends in a row. With it being such a success this year, it is definitely possible in the near future. For more information about this event, read about it in this month’s Detroit Live Magazine’s October issue or visit Theatre Bizarre’s website.