What lies ahead

A busy week. Guess it’s not that different than any other. I am looking forward to Theatre Bizarre’s Gala this Friday at the Masonic. I’ve only attended TB once and it was a long time ago on the grounds. Maybe 2001. I don’t remember much as I was pretty blitzed.

Back then, I didn’t go to Detroit much. It was a different time. A different life as I had just recently moved to Grand Blanc in a cookie cutter house in one of the hundreds of subdivisions that were popping up back then. So going to TB in a part of Detroit I had no reference to was just the start of a night of not knowing what to expect.

I just remember thinking, “What the fuck? I have to go through these houses? Isn’t there just a regular entrance?” Little did I know then, there’s nothing “regular” about TB.

I love haunted houses…but going through the houses wasn’t quite like that. I don’t even remember anything I saw. I remember stairs…darkness. Feeling…disoriented. But then…I was in someone’s fuckin backyard…but it wasn’t just a backyard. A stage. Costumes. Like being at a Halloween party, but not. Haha. Everything seemed like something you were familiar with, but it was just altered somehow. Enough to make the experience different and unlike anything I’d ever been to.

That was the only time I went to TB. Each year,I’d read about it and look at pictures, wishing I would’ve gone. No more! Lol. I’m fuckin’ going.

It was truly a great pleasure to get to talk with John Dunivant, the creator of TB last month. Because I understand it now, I have such a great appreciation for the time and talent that his crew puts into this year after year. I appreciate it on an artistic level. To know a little about his inspirations and hear about his personal experiences…..TB is a projection of himself. Altered :)

It’s definitely a unique event. I am aware that there are somewhat similar events going on in October elsewhere….but I guarantee, the detail, the craftsmanship, the “doing it the right way” factor will not be surpassed by the “others.”

The main event on the 18th is sold out. What great news! Few gala tickets are left and can be purchased on the website, http://www.theatrebizarre.com.

Got my dress. Got my masquerade mask. Can’t wait to explore and experience the evolved bizarre world and see what elements of the secret society story I can pick up on and what pieces of Dunivant’s puzzle I can put together. But mostly, I can’t wait to share it with everyone! See you there on the 17th at the “world’s greatest masquerade on earth” here in the D. <3