KISS me Vegas

image

It’s official. . my Vegas cherry has been popped! A brief weekend,  but still amazing!! I’m forever engrained with “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.” But honestly,  I think that’s reserved for people who lack self control or intentionally choose not to have it while there. I have no crazy stories to share…. at least that I can remember ;)

Night 1 – First night just walked a little bit of the strip and visited the Bellagio. Reminded me of The Somerset Collection in terms of the shops…granted we don’t have a Harry Winston in Troy.. but still. Got to see the water and some randomness up and down the strip.  I was just happy to be able to be outside and not see snow.

Day 2 – I got to attend my first LDI convention. So what’s the big deal about lights?  Well, as photographers we are at the mercy of lights when shooting anything. .. especially concerts!  It was really exciting and rather educational to learn about what is dangling on those rigs above the stage.

 

Elation, Martin, PRG, Chauvet and many others were at the convention to show off their latest and greatest products. See below.

map

One of the lighting presentations that I got to see was from the Italian company, Clay Paky. They are “a world level reference brand in the stage lighting industry, offering a wide range of automated luminaires.” Their products are used in top productions of Theatre, Television, Live Events, Fashion show, Trade Fairs and are installed in the best Clubs, Bars, Theme Parks, Shops, Conference Halls and architectural venues.

The reason I remember this presentation is because they associated each product to a video game-like character – super sharpy, mythos, and stormy.  The characters reminded me of Halo for some reason. Regardless, it’s an easy way to  remember the different models of spotlight/beams and strobe – especially for someone like me, who has little to no knowledge of production lighting. But, I am learning!

wpid-img_20141126_171410.jpgMartin by Harman booth

wpid-img_20141126_171241.jpgElation

Day 2 (later) – The Hard Rock. Really…you’ve gone to one Hard Rock you’ve gone to them all, right? I haven’t really been to that many. But, I will say that I did fall in love with the one in Vegas.  Great Mexican food at the Pink Taco and drinks with very mediocre service for some reason at the Culinary Dropout. Great atmosphere though!

The JOINT to see KISS as they finished their last weekend of their residency at The Hard Rock. I never considered myself a KISS fan, no particular reason why. But after seeing them, I understand why so many are. Their performance was great. Their production was even better. I’ve been able to experience concerts from so many different sides now, production being the newest, that it really has changed my outlook.  You can really tell when shows and festivals are well put together and when they are not. When there’s good communication and organization and when there is not. I appreciate it all and everyone involved…on, off, in front of, and behind the stage.

KISS

Day 3 – . . . . . . exactly.